The Viber Access Code feature was created for identification purposes. It is in our interest to protect our user’s identity.This is why it is important that users receive their Access Code via SMS, or via callback, rather than via email, to ensure that they are the real owners of the cell number which they are registering. This will prevent other users from obtaining your access code and placing calls with your caller ID.
The same holds true for the cancellation of accounts. We cannot accept email requests indicating to us wishes to have certain telephone numbers deactivated. There is no way for us to verify that the sender of the email is also the true owner of the telephone number.
If you wish to deactivate your account, go to the “More” tab on your Viber app, and tap on the “Deactivate Account” option. All of your personal information will be automatically deleted.
If you have uninstalled Viber, you will need to reinstall it in order to deactivate your account.
If you have lost your device or if it has been stolen, you may reinstall Viber on your new device, using the lost devices phone number. This will once again activate the lost device’s number onto your new device. If you wish not to use that number any longer, once activated, you may go to the ‘more’ option and select deactivate. This will deactivate that number. Then reinstall again using your new number.
If you don’t want to reinstall Viber, don’t worry. Your account will automatically be deleted after 45 days of inactivity.